STATE OF THE ARTS
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++
SOLO
Christian Falsnaes
+++

Christian Falsnaes

SOLO, 2020
Visitors, a white room, mirror, sound
Courtesy the artists and PSM Gallery, Berlin

visit Website
Youtube

*1980 in Copenhagen, Denmark
lives in Berlin

 

Christian Falsnaes, SOLO. installation view, photo: Kurc, 2020 © Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland GmbH

This world is founded on a traditional classification system: »the work«, »the artist« and »the viewer«.

Christian Falsnaes’ works are brought to life when they are activated by the audience. More and more often the visitors are the sole protagonists of his works. The artist withdraws as a protagonist and develops concepts that others execute. In this context, he is interested in questions of authority and hierarchy, social rituals and group dynamics, in both art and daily life. 

SOLO was conceived especially for this exhibition when it became clear that the originally planned work FORCE could not be carried out in accordance with the new distancing and hygiene rules. With SOLO, Falsnaes reacts not only in a practical way, but also conceptually, to a new situation that has determined our everyday life for several weeks now. Strict regulations apply in public spaces, which affect our interactions as well as the physique of each individual. We can only act in a way that is free from these still unfamiliar rules in private spaces. The artist reflects on how new social conventions change our intuitive behaviour in the short or long term – in our interactions with others, but also alone with ourselves.

Christian Falsnaes, Self Portrait, Courtesy the artist and PSM, Berlin
 

Christian Falsnaes’ practice is experimental, often remaining an open process. His choreographies are not intended for a passive audience. Action, not viewing, is at the forefront of his works. Participants are given the opportunity to observe themselves in unusual situations. The artist is interested here in self-perception and in raising awareness of sensations, impulses and reactions. In some cases, Falsnaes consciously provokes feelings of unease, uncertainty or tension. The function of the exhibition space in this context is to create distance and to prompt a conscious questioning of one’s own actions and feelings.

Johanna Adam

Christian Falsnaes started out as a graffiti artist in Copenhagen, where he also studied philosophy, before embarking on a degree in fine art in Vienna. He has staged performances and interactions in public spaces in Copenhagen before he even started studying art, but he quickly found his way into exhibitions and museums. He can be described as an artist who moves back and forth across the boundaries between the visual and the performing arts


˄ scroll ˅

STATE OF THE ARTS
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++
Solo
Christian Falsnaes
+++

Christian Falsnaes

SOLO, 2020
Besucher*innen, weißer Raum,
Spiegel, Sound
Courtesy der Künstler und
PSM Gallery, Berlin

visit Website
Youtube

*1980 in Kopenhagen, Dänemark
Lebt in Berlin

 

Christian Falsnaes, SOLO. Installationsansicht, Foto: Kurc, 2020 © Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland GmbH

Er spielt mit den traditionellen Kategorien »Werk«, »Künstler« und »Betrachter« und variiert diese Rollen.

Die Arbeiten von Christian Falsnaes leben von der Aktivierung des Publikums. Immer häufiger sind die Besucher*innen dabei die alleinigen Protagonisten seiner Werke. Der Künstler zieht sich als Akteur zurück und entwickelt Konzepte, die andere ausführen. Ihn interessieren in diesem Zusammenhang Fragen nach Autorität und Hierarchie, nach sozialen Ritualen und der Gruppendynamik, in der Kunst wie auch im täglichen Leben. 

SOLO wurde eigens für diese Ausstellung konzipiert, als klar wurde, dass die ursprünglich geplante Arbeit FORCE nach den neuen Abstands- und Hygieneregeln nicht durchführbar ist. Falsnaes reagiert mit SOLO nicht nur praktisch, sondern konzeptuell auf eine neue Situation, die unseren Alltag seit einigen Wochen bestimmt. Im öffentlichen Raum gelten strenge Vorschriften, die unser Miteinander ebenso betreffen wie die Physis jedes einzelnen. Frei von diesen noch ungewohnten Regeln können wir nur in privaten Räumen agieren. Der Künstler reflektiert darüber, wie neue gesellschaftliche Konventionen kurz- oder langfristig auch unser intuitives Verhalten verändern – in der Interaktion mit anderen, aber auch allein mit uns selbst. 

Christian Falsnaes, Self Portrait, Courtesy the artist and PSM, Berlin
 

Die Kunstpraxis von Christian Falsnaes ist experimentell und bleibt häufig ein offener Prozess. Seine Choreografien sind nicht an ein passives Publikum gerichtet, im Gegensatz zum stillen Betrachten steht hier das Agieren im Vordergrund. Die Teilnehmer*innen erhalten die Möglichkeit, sich selbst in außergewöhnlichen Situationen zu beobachten. Es geht dem Künstler hier um die Eigenwahrnehmung und eine Sensibilisierung für Empfindungen, Impulse und Reaktionen. Mitunter provoziert Falsnaes dabei bewusst Unbehagen, Verunsicherung oder Anspannung. Der Ausstellungsraum hat in diesem Zusammenhang die Funktion, Distanz zu schaffen und eine bewusste Auseinandersetzung mit dem eigenen Handeln und Empfinden in Gang zu setzen.

Johanna Adam

*1980 in Kopenhagen, Dänemark
Lebt in Berlin

Christian Falsnaes begann seine Laufbahn als Graffitikünstler in Kopenhagen, wo er auch Philosophie studierte, bevor er ein Studium der bildenden Künste in Wien begann. Noch vor seinem Kunststudium hat Christian Falsnaes in Kopenhagen bereits Performances und Interaktionen im öffentlichen Raum veranstaltet, er fand jedoch bald den Weg in Ausstellungen und Museen. Seine Arbeitsweise kann als Grenzgang zwischen bildender und darstellender Kunst beschrieben werden.


˄ scroll ˅