STATE OF THE ARTS
16th June 2020 – 16th August 2020
Video, Installation, Perfomance
+++
16th June 2020 – 16th August 2020
Video, Installation, Perfomance
+++
16th June 2020 – 16th August 2020
Video, Installation, Perfomance
+++
16th June 2020 – 16th August 2020
Video, Installation, Perfomance
+++
16th June 2020 – 16th August 2020
Video, Installation, Perfomance
+++
16th June 2020 – 16th August 2020
Video, Installation, Perfomance
+++
16th June 2020 – 16th August 2020
Video, Installation, Perfomance
+++
16th June 2020 – 16th August 2020
Video, Installation, Perfomance
+++

Video, Installation, Perfomance

16th June 2020 – 16th August 2020

The exhibition presents one of the most intriguing artistic phenomena of our time: the fusion of the visual and the performing arts. Today, more often than not, a visit to an exhibition does not merely offer new visual impressions. Instead, it is a more comprehensive experience that involves all the senses. Artists combine video, performance, dance and language, creating intermedial works. In some cases, this results in giving the visitors, the opportunity to give up the distanced position of the viewer and become part of the work.

The fusion of the arts that causes the boundaries between the disciplines to disappear is a phenomenon of contemporary art that emerged in the 1960s. The term intermedia was used to celebrate the diversity of artistic possibilities, and experiments combining music, theatre, visual art and literature were launched. The Fluxus movement with its Happenings and use of new media was especially influential in shaping this broader concept of art. Today in 2020, the extension of artistic media into all conceivable fields has long since become widely accepted. The exhibition brings together works that playfully move between different artistic disciplines – performative sculptures, sound works and installation art, as well as performances.


Rachel Monosov – The Blind Leader

Rachel Monosov’s work is characterised by a great diversity of media. She uses her performances, photographs, videos and sculptures as a means to artistically explore social and political phenomena.

Christian Falsnaes – SOLO

Christian Falsnaes’ works are brought to life when they are activated by the audience. More and more often the visitors are the sole protagonists of his works. The artist withdraws as a protagonist and develops concepts that others execute. In this context, he is interested in questions of authority and hierarchy, social rituals and group dynamics, in both art and daily life.

Begüm Erciyas – Voicing Pieces

In Voicing Pieces, the visitor’s voice becomes a protagonist in the enactment. In the intimacy of a booth, visitors are led by a simple score.

Gisèle Gonon – Work With Us

Gisèle Gonon works in diverse media, often combining sculpture, drawings, video and sound. She is especially interested in the forms, colours, functions and social context from which a medium emerges.

Dries Verhoeven – Songs for Thomas Piketty

Dries Verhoeven works at the intersection between performance and installation, seeking to complicate the relationship between viewers, performers, real-life situations and art.

Simnikiwe Buhlungu – Rolling-A-Joint

In her video work Rolling-A-Joint: Revisiting Spike Lee, Simnikiwe Buhlungu playfully creates audiovisual montages by combining spoken and written words with sound.

Nora Turato – THANKS, I HATE IT!

Language is the central theme of Nora Turato’s performances, videos and wall works. She writes and performs spoken-word poems, interweaving text fragments from advertising slogans and everyday communication, and reflecting the language and textual culture of the present day.

Laure Prouvost – Metal Man and Woman

Laure Prouvost creates intermedial installations that move between fiction and reality. Whether her works take the form of film, video, sound or sculpture, they always have strong narratives.

David Shrigley – The Artist

David Shrigley uses humour and brutal honesty as artistic means. His drawings, paintings and animated films are often based on an interaction between the image and the text, while his sculptures, sound installations and interventions in public spaces combine striking visual force with subtle jokes.

Isabel Lewis feat. Dirk Bell – Gazebo

Gazebo (even if) 2020 invites you to entrust yourself to the architecture, to get involved, but above all to experience the space intuitively. Isabel Lewis wants to seduce her audience even when she is not there.

Hannah Weinberger – We Didn't Want To Leave

Hannah Weinberger develops spaces of experiences, sound and video installations, that she conceives as complete compositions. we didn’t want to leave is constantly changing. An algorithm produces an endless series of new sounds. Unique each time, they resound in the space and cannot be reproduced.

Simon Fujiwara – Empathy I

Simon Fujiwara engages with the images and narratives of our time. What kind of content shapes our everyday visual culture, how do we consume, and how do we communicate with the aid of different media? He is especially interested in the stories and strategies that individuals and societies use to define themselves and form their identities.

Raphaela Vogel

Raphaela Vogel combines different, often contradictory media and art genres in a virtuoso manner. Her installations bring together objects and sculptures with videos in which she often appears herself, sings or plays the piano.
Performative Installation by R. Monosov -
Sun 12.07.2020, 12 pm - 4 pm

The Blind Leader by Rachel Monosov

With The Blind Leader, Rachel Monosov has designed a performative installation that is activated in phases by performers. In the exhibition State of the Arts, visitors can also slip into this role and take over the performances themselves. The Blind Leader is about mechanisms of social and political control. How do authorities gain power over people? The artist formulates her perspective with an example: “If someone asks you to sit on the ground with them, that’s one thing. But if someone asks you to sit on the ground while they stand over you, that’s something different”.

Alt Text
Performative Installation by R. Monosov -
Sat 18.07.2020, 12 pm - 4 pm

The Blind Leader by Rachel Monosov

With The Blind Leader, Rachel Monosov has designed a performative installation that is activated in phases by performers. In the exhibition State of the Arts, visitors can also slip into this role and take over the performances themselves. The Blind Leader is about mechanisms of social and political control. How do authorities gain power over people? The artist formulates her perspective with an example: “If someone asks you to sit on the ground with them, that’s one thing. But if someone asks you to sit on the ground while they stand over you, that’s something different”.

Alt Text
Performative Installation by R. Monosov -
Sun 19.07.2020, 12 pm - 4 pm

The Blind Leader by Rachel Monosov

With The Blind Leader, Rachel Monosov has designed a performative installation that is activated in phases by performers. In the exhibition State of the Arts, visitors can also slip into this role and take over the performances themselves. The Blind Leader is about mechanisms of social and political control. How do authorities gain power over people? The artist formulates her perspective with an example: “If someone asks you to sit on the ground with them, that’s one thing. But if someone asks you to sit on the ground while they stand over you, that’s something different”.

Alt Text
Performance by Lou Drago -
Wed 22.07.2020, 7 pm - 8 pm

Suspending Time: Meditations for accessing alternate space/time in music by Lou Drago

“Music makes time audible.”
Susanne Langer

“Time exists for us because we experience tensions and their resolutions.” Philosopher Susanne Langer, claims that the particular building-up of tensions, and “their ways of breaking or diminishing or merging into longer and greater tensions, make for a vast variety of temporal forms.”

In most Western music, we generally listen within a linear framework, recalling what has already been heard and anticipating what will come next. Often without ever having heard a piece of music before it is possible to anticipate the next phrase because of how it was suggested earlier in the piece. Johnathan Kramer introduced the concept of vertical time in music after experiencing a performance of Erik Satie’s Vexations. Kramer encountered a feeling of having exhausted the information content of the work and experienced “getting bored, becoming imprisoned by a hopelessly repetitious piece.” The experience of time became slower and slower, threatening to stop. But through this boredom, Kramer discovered a different mode of listening. By being liberated from considering the music’s past and future, the present expanded; suddenly it was possible to enter the “vertical time of the piece.”

A vector can be drawn between this alternate mode of listening to music and numerous meditation and mindfulness practices that similarly emphasise the importance of focusing on the present. As Lou Drago sees it, meditation can be used to obviate thought in order to alleviate oneself temporarily from the weight of self-consciousness and other anxieties.

For the work Suspending Time: Meditations for accessing alternate space/time in music , Lou Drago speculates which music potentiates the experiencing of non-linear time. The audience is invited to interact with the music with the objective of attempting to experience a suspension of time. This work hypothesises that these two factors, meditation and non-linear listening, are interdependent. The experience of vertical time can have a meditative effect, yet effectively one must be meditating – be alleviated from conscious thought – to be able to experience time vertically.

Text Lou Drago

The Participation is free (with exhibition ticket).

Spontaneous attendance is possible and welcome.
(Limited capacities, admission subject to availability.)

Alt Text
Performance by Lou Drago -
Thu 23.07.2020, 12 pm - 1 pm

Suspending Time: Meditations for accessing alternate space/time in music by Lou Drago

“Music makes time audible.”
Susanne Langer

“Time exists for us because we experience tensions and their resolutions.” Philosopher Susanne Langer, claims that the particular building-up of tensions, and “their ways of breaking or diminishing or merging into longer and greater tensions, make for a vast variety of temporal forms.”

In most Western music, we generally listen within a linear framework, recalling what has already been heard and anticipating what will come next. Often without ever having heard a piece of music before it is possible to anticipate the next phrase because of how it was suggested earlier in the piece. Johnathan Kramer introduced the concept of vertical time in music after experiencing a performance of Erik Satie’s Vexations. Kramer encountered a feeling of having exhausted the information content of the work and experienced “getting bored, becoming imprisoned by a hopelessly repetitious piece.” The experience of time became slower and slower, threatening to stop. But through this boredom, Kramer discovered a different mode of listening. By being liberated from considering the music’s past and future, the present expanded; suddenly it was possible to enter the “vertical time of the piece.”

A vector can be drawn between this alternate mode of listening to music and numerous meditation and mindfulness practices that similarly emphasise the importance of focusing on the present. As Lou Drago sees it, meditation can be used to obviate thought in order to alleviate oneself temporarily from the weight of self-consciousness and other anxieties.

For the work Suspending Time: Meditations for accessing alternate space/time in music , Lou Drago speculates which music potentiates the experiencing of non-linear time. The audience is invited to interact with the music with the objective of attempting to experience a suspension of time. This work hypothesises that these two factors, meditation and non-linear listening, are interdependent. The experience of vertical time can have a meditative effect, yet effectively one must be meditating – be alleviated from conscious thought – to be able to experience time vertically.

Text Lou Drago

The Participation is free (with exhibition ticket).

Spontaneous attendance is possible and welcome.
(Limited capacities, admission subject to availability.)

Alt Text
Performance by Lou Drago -
Thu 23.07.2020, 3 pm - 4 pm

Suspending Time: Meditations for accessing alternate space/time in music by Lou Drago

“Music makes time audible.”
Susanne Langer

“Time exists for us because we experience tensions and their resolutions.” Philosopher Susanne Langer, claims that the particular building-up of tensions, and “their ways of breaking or diminishing or merging into longer and greater tensions, make for a vast variety of temporal forms.”

In most Western music, we generally listen within a linear framework, recalling what has already been heard and anticipating what will come next. Often without ever having heard a piece of music before it is possible to anticipate the next phrase because of how it was suggested earlier in the piece. Johnathan Kramer introduced the concept of vertical time in music after experiencing a performance of Erik Satie’s Vexations. Kramer encountered a feeling of having exhausted the information content of the work and experienced “getting bored, becoming imprisoned by a hopelessly repetitious piece.” The experience of time became slower and slower, threatening to stop. But through this boredom, Kramer discovered a different mode of listening. By being liberated from considering the music’s past and future, the present expanded; suddenly it was possible to enter the “vertical time of the piece.”

A vector can be drawn between this alternate mode of listening to music and numerous meditation and mindfulness practices that similarly emphasise the importance of focusing on the present. As Lou Drago sees it, meditation can be used to obviate thought in order to alleviate oneself temporarily from the weight of self-consciousness and other anxieties.

For the work Suspending Time: Meditations for accessing alternate space/time in music , Lou Drago speculates which music potentiates the experiencing of non-linear time. The audience is invited to interact with the music with the objective of attempting to experience a suspension of time. This work hypothesises that these two factors, meditation and non-linear listening, are interdependent. The experience of vertical time can have a meditative effect, yet effectively one must be meditating – be alleviated from conscious thought – to be able to experience time vertically.

Text Lou Drago

The Participation is free (with exhibition ticket).

Spontaneous attendance is possible and welcome.
(Limited capacities, admission subject to availability.)

Alt Text
Performative Installation by R. Monosov -
Sat 25.07.2020, 12 pm - 4 pm

The Blind Leader by Rachel Monosov

With The Blind Leader, Rachel Monosov has designed a performative installation that is activated in phases by performers. In the exhibition State of the Arts, visitors can also slip into this role and take over the performances themselves. The Blind Leader is about mechanisms of social and political control. How do authorities gain power over people? The artist formulates her perspective with an example: “If someone asks you to sit on the ground with them, that’s one thing. But if someone asks you to sit on the ground while they stand over you, that’s something different”.

Alt Text
Performative Installation by R. Monosov -
Sun 26.07.2020, 12 pm - 4 pm

The Blind Leader by Rachel Monosov

With The Blind Leader, Rachel Monosov has designed a performative installation that is activated in phases by performers. In the exhibition State of the Arts, visitors can also slip into this role and take over the performances themselves. The Blind Leader is about mechanisms of social and political control. How do authorities gain power over people? The artist formulates her perspective with an example: “If someone asks you to sit on the ground with them, that’s one thing. But if someone asks you to sit on the ground while they stand over you, that’s something different”.

Alt Text
The Blind Leader by R. Monosov LIVE -
Sat 01.08.2020, 11 am - 1 pm

LIVE: The Blind Leader by R. Monosov

This weekend the performative installation The Blind Leader will be activated by two performers. Rachel Monosov’s work is about mechanisms of social and political control. How do authorities gain power over people? The artist formulates her perspective with an example: “If someone asks you to sit on the ground with them, that’s one thing. But if someone asks you to sit on the ground while they stand over you, that’s something different”.

Alt Text
The Blind Leader by R. Monosov LIVE -
Sat 01.08.2020, 2 pm - 4 pm

LIVE: The Blind Leader by R. Monosov

This weekend the performative installation The Blind Leader will be activated by two performers. Rachel Monosov’s work is about mechanisms of social and political control. How do authorities gain power over people? The artist formulates her perspective with an example: “If someone asks you to sit on the ground with them, that’s one thing. But if someone asks you to sit on the ground while they stand over you, that’s something different”.

Alt Text
to the entire programme

Contact
Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der
Bundesrepublik Deutschland GmbH
Museumsmeile Bonn
Helmut-Kohl-Allee 4

P +49 228 9171–200
F +49 228 234154
info@bundeskunsthalle.de

Opening times
Monday
Tuesday and Wednesday
Thursday to Sunday
and on holidays*

*also on Mondays

 

closed
10am – 9pm
10am – 7pm

˄ scroll ˅

STATE OF THE ARTS
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++
16. Juni – 16. August
Die Verschmelzung der Künste
+++

Die Verschmelzung der Künste

16. Juni – 16. August

Die Ausstellung präsentiert eines der spannendsten Phänomene unserer Zeit: die Verschmelzung von darstellender und bildender Kunst. Heute bedeutet ein Ausstellungsbesuch immer häufiger, nicht nur neue visuelle Eindrücke zu erwarten. Stattdessen steht ein umfassendes Erleben im Mittelpunkt, das sämtliche Sinne anspricht. Künstler*innen kombinieren Video, Performance, Tanz, Sprache und schaffen auf diese Weise intermediale Werke. Das führt mitunter dazu, dass der Besucher die Gelegenheit bekommt, die distanzierte Haltung des Zuschauers aufzugeben und somit selbst Teil des Werkes wird.

Das Verschmelzen der Künste durch die Auflösung der Gattungsgrenzen ist ein Phänomen in der aktuellen Kunst, das sich bereits in den 1960er-Jahren ausmachen lässt. Unter dem Begriff Intermedia wurde die Vielfalt der künstlerischen Möglichkeiten gefeiert und das Zusammenwirken von Musik, Theater, bildender Kunst und Literatur erprobt. Insbesondere die Fluxus-Bewegung mit ihren Happenings und der Verwendung neuer Medien hat diesen erweiterten Kunstbegriff geprägt. Im Jahr 2020 ist die Entfaltung der künstlerischen Medien in alle denkbaren Bereiche längst gängige Praxis geworden. Die Ausstellung versammelt Werke, die sich spielerisch zwischen den unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Gestaltungsfeldern bewegen, wie etwa performative Skulpturen, Sound-Arbeiten und Installationskunst, aber auch Performances.

Rachel Monosov – The Blind Leader

Die Künstlerin hat mit The Blind Leader eine Installation entworfen, die sich mit den Mechanismen gesellschaftlicher und politischer Kontrolle auseinandersetzt. Wie verschaffen sich Autoritäten Macht über Menschen?

Christian Falsnaes – SOLO

Die Arbeiten von Christian Falsnaes leben von der Aktivierung des Publikums. Immer häufiger sind die Besucher*innen dabei die alleinigen Protagonisten seiner Werke. Der Künstler zieht sich als Akteur zurück und entwickelt Konzepte, die andere ausführen. Ihn interessieren in diesem Zusammenhang Fragen nach Autorität und Hierarchie, nach sozialen Ritualen und der Gruppendynamik, in der Kunst wie auch im täglichen Leben.

Begüm Erciyas – Voicing Pieces

In Voicing Pieces wird die Stimme des Besuchers zum Protagonisten der Inszenierung. In der Intimität einer Kabine, geleitet von einer einfachen Partitur, wird man zum Hörer seiner eigenen Stimme.

Gisèle Gonon – Work With Us

Gisèle Gonon arbeitet intermedial und kombiniert Skulptur, Zeichnung, Video und Sound. Gonon interessiert sich insbesondere für die durch Analogien, Formen, Farben, die Funktion und den sozialen Kontext, dem ein Medium entstammt.

Dries Verhoeven – Songs for Thomas Piketty

Dries Verhoeven arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Performance und Installation. Er versucht dabei, die Beziehungen zwischen Zuschauern, Performern, dem täglichen Leben und der Kunst zu verkomplizieren.

Simnikiwe Buhlungu – Rolling-A-Joint

Simnikiwe Buhlungu kreiert in ihrer Video-Arbeit Rolling-A-Joint: Revisiting Spike Lee spielerisch audiovisuelle Montagen, indem sie gesprochene und geschriebene Wörter mit Sound kombiniert.

Nora Turato – THANKS, I HATE IT!

In den Performances, Videos und Wandarbeiten von Nora Turato ist die Sprache das zentrale Thema. Sie schreibt und performt Spoken-Word-Gedichte, verwebt Textfragmente aus Werbeslogans und Alltagssprache und reflektiert auf diese Weise die Sprach- und Textkultur der Gegenwart.

Laure Prouvost – Metal Men and Woman

Laure Prouvost kreiert intermediale Installationen, die sich zwischen Fiktion und Realität bewegen. Ob Film, Video, Sound oder Skulptur, stets erzählen ihre Werke ausdrucksstarke Geschichten, wobei sie jedoch nicht dem Muster einer traditionellen, gradlinigen Erzählweise folgt.

David Shrigley – The Artist

David Shrigley setzt Humor und schonungslose Ehrlichkeit als künstlerische Mittel ein. Seine Zeichnungen, Gemälde und Animationsfilme basieren oft auf einem Zusammenspiel von Bild und Text. Seine Skulpturen, Sound-Installationen und Aktionen im öffentlichen Raum vereinen plakative Visualität mit subtilem Witz.

Isabel Lewis featuring Dirk Bell – Gazebo

Gazebo (even if) 2020 lädt ein, sich der Architektur anzuvertrauen, sich einzulassen, aber vor allen Dingen, den Raum intuitiv zu erfahren. Isabel Lewis will ihr Publikum verführen, auch wenn sie nicht anwesend ist.

Hannah Weinberger – We Didn't Want To Leave

Hannah Weinberger studierte an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, wo sie 2013 mit einem Master of Fine Arts (Vertiefung Mediale Künste) abschloss. Schon früh in ihrem künstlerischen Werdegang präsentierte sie ihre Arbeiten in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen im In- und Ausland. Seit 2013 ist sie im Vorstand der Kunsthalle Basel. Weiter ist sie als Dozentin an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Basel.

Simon Fujiwara – Empathy I

Simon Fujiwara setzt sich mit den Bildern und Narrativen unserer Zeit auseinander. Welche Inhalte bestimmen unsere visuelle Alltagskultur, wie konsumieren und kommunizieren wir mit Hilfe verschiedener Medien? Dabei interessieren ihn vor allem die Geschichten und Strategien, mittels derer sich Individuen wie Gesellschaften definieren und profilieren.

Raphaela Vogel – Tränenmeer

Raphaela Vogel verbindet unterschiedliche, oft konträre Medien und Genres der Kunst auf virtuose Weise. Ihre Installationen vereinen Objekte und Skulpturen mit Videos, in denen sie oft selbst auftritt, singt oder Klavier spielt.
Performative Installation von R. Monosov -
So 12.07.2020, 12 Uhr - 16 Uhr

The Blind Leader von Rachel Monosov

Rachel Monosov hat mit The Blind Leader eine performative Installation entworfen, die phasenweise von Performer*innen aktiviert wird. In der Ausstellung State of the Arts dürfen auch die Besucher*innen in diese Rolle schlüpfen und die Performances selbst übernehmen. Bei The Blind Leader geht es um Mechanismen gesellschaftlicher und politischer Kontrolle. Wie verschaffen sich Autoritäten Macht über Menschen? Die Künstlerin formuliert ihre Perspektive anhand eines Beispiels: „Wenn jemand dich auffordert, gemeinsam auf dem Boden zu sitzen, ist das eine Sache. Wenn dich aber jemand auffordert, dich auf den Boden zu setzen, während der andere über dir steht, ist das eine andere Sache.“

Alt Text
Performative Installation von R. Monosov -
Sa 18.07.2020, 12 Uhr - 16 Uhr

The Blind Leader von Rachel Monosov

Rachel Monosov hat mit The Blind Leader eine performative Installation entworfen, die phasenweise von Performer*innen aktiviert wird. In der Ausstellung State of the Arts dürfen auch die Besucher*innen in diese Rolle schlüpfen und die Performances selbst übernehmen. Bei The Blind Leader geht es um Mechanismen gesellschaftlicher und politischer Kontrolle. Wie verschaffen sich Autoritäten Macht über Menschen? Die Künstlerin formuliert ihre Perspektive anhand eines Beispiels: „Wenn jemand dich auffordert, gemeinsam auf dem Boden zu sitzen, ist das eine Sache. Wenn dich aber jemand auffordert, dich auf den Boden zu setzen, während der andere über dir steht, ist das eine andere Sache.“

Alt Text
Performative Installation von R. Monosov -
So 19.07.2020, 12 Uhr - 16 Uhr

The Blind Leader von Rachel Monosov

Rachel Monosov hat mit The Blind Leader eine performative Installation entworfen, die phasenweise von Performer*innen aktiviert wird. In der Ausstellung State of the Arts dürfen auch die Besucher*innen in diese Rolle schlüpfen und die Performances selbst übernehmen. Bei The Blind Leader geht es um Mechanismen gesellschaftlicher und politischer Kontrolle. Wie verschaffen sich Autoritäten Macht über Menschen? Die Künstlerin formuliert ihre Perspektive anhand eines Beispiels: „Wenn jemand dich auffordert, gemeinsam auf dem Boden zu sitzen, ist das eine Sache. Wenn dich aber jemand auffordert, dich auf den Boden zu setzen, während der andere über dir steht, ist das eine andere Sache.“

Alt Text
Performance von Lou Drago -
Mi 22.07.2020, 19 Uhr - 20 Uhr

Suspending Time: Meditations for accessing alternate space/time in music by Lou Drago

„Musik macht die Zeit hörbar.“
Susanne Langer

Dem Großteil westlicher Musik hören wir üblicherweise innerhalb eines linearen Rahmens zu, erinnern uns an das, was wir schon gehört haben und erwarten das, was als nächstes kommen wird. Oft können wir, ohne ein Musikstück je vorher gehört zu haben, die nächste Phrase anhand dessen erahnen, was die bereits gehörte Musik nahelegt. David Huron erklärt, dass genaues Vorhersagen für uns mit evolutionären Vorteilen verbunden ist und wir deshalb „dafür prädisponiert sind, uns zu freuen, wenn unsere Erwartungen erfüllt werden.“ Diese sofortige Belohnung lockt die Zuhörer*innen in die Falle einer linearen Zeitlichkeit – wenn allerdings die Wiederholung solange andauert, dass die Erinnerung überflüssig wird, wird eine andere Art des Zuhörens möglich.

Jonathan Kramer führte das Konzept der vertikalen Zeit ein, nachdem er eine Aufführung von Erik Saties „Vexations“ erlebt hatte. Kramer war mit dem Gefühl konfrontiert, den Informationsgehalt des Stücks ausgeschöpft zu haben und empfand „Langeweile, ein Gefühl des Gefangenseins durch dieses sich hoffnungslos wiederholende Stück.“ Die Erfahrung der Zeit verlangsamte sich zunehmend, bis zu dem Punkt, an dem sie stillzustehen schien. Aber durch diese Langeweile entdeckte Kramer eine andere Art des Zuhörens. Er war befreit von Überlegungen zu Vergangenheit und Zukunft der Musik und die Gegenwart dehnte sich aus. Plötzlich wurde es möglich, sich in die „vertikale Zeit des Stücks“ zu begeben.

Man kann eine direkte Linie zwischen diesem alternativen Modus des Musikhörens und zahlreichen Praktiken von Meditation und Achtsamkeit ziehen, die der Konzentration auf die Gegenwart eine ähnlich große Bedeutung einräumen. Lou Drago, Host von Transience, sieht die Meditation als eine Methode, das Denken zu vermeiden um eine Zeit lang die Last des Selbst-Bewusstseins und anderer Ängste zu verringern. Im Rahmen des Workshops denkt Drago über verschiedene Arten von Musik nach, die die Erfahrung vertikaler Zeit verstärken können. Zweimal pro Woche wird das Programm mit einer einstündigen Hör-Session beginnen. Die Besucher*innen werden eingeladen, mit der Musik zu interagieren und zu versuchen, eine Aufhebung der Zeit zu erleben. Die Grundannahme ist, dass die beiden Faktoren Meditation und vertikales Zuhören ineinander greifen. Die Erfahrung der vertikalen Zeit kann eine meditative Wirkung haben, allerdings muss man im Grunde bereits meditieren – also von bewussten Gedanken befreit sein –, um die Zeit vertikal erfahren zu können.

Text Lou Drago

Die Teilnahme im Rahmen von „State oft he Arts“ ist kostenlos (mit Ausstellungsticket).

Spontane Teilnahme ist möglich und erwünscht.
(Begrenzte Platzkapazitäten, Zutritt jeweils nach Verfügbarkeit.)

 

Alt Text
Performance von Lou Drago -
Do 23.07.2020, 12 Uhr - 13 Uhr

Suspending Time: Meditations for accessing alternate space/time in music by Lou Drago

„Musik macht die Zeit hörbar.“
Susanne Langer

Dem Großteil westlicher Musik hören wir üblicherweise innerhalb eines linearen Rahmens zu, erinnern uns an das, was wir schon gehört haben und erwarten das, was als nächstes kommen wird. Oft können wir, ohne ein Musikstück je vorher gehört zu haben, die nächste Phrase anhand dessen erahnen, was die bereits gehörte Musik nahelegt. David Huron erklärt, dass genaues Vorhersagen für uns mit evolutionären Vorteilen verbunden ist und wir deshalb „dafür prädisponiert sind, uns zu freuen, wenn unsere Erwartungen erfüllt werden.“ Diese sofortige Belohnung lockt die Zuhörer*innen in die Falle einer linearen Zeitlichkeit – wenn allerdings die Wiederholung solange andauert, dass die Erinnerung überflüssig wird, wird eine andere Art des Zuhörens möglich.

Jonathan Kramer führte das Konzept der vertikalen Zeit ein, nachdem er eine Aufführung von Erik Saties „Vexations“ erlebt hatte. Kramer war mit dem Gefühl konfrontiert, den Informationsgehalt des Stücks ausgeschöpft zu haben und empfand „Langeweile, ein Gefühl des Gefangenseins durch dieses sich hoffnungslos wiederholende Stück.“ Die Erfahrung der Zeit verlangsamte sich zunehmend, bis zu dem Punkt, an dem sie stillzustehen schien. Aber durch diese Langeweile entdeckte Kramer eine andere Art des Zuhörens. Er war befreit von Überlegungen zu Vergangenheit und Zukunft der Musik und die Gegenwart dehnte sich aus. Plötzlich wurde es möglich, sich in die „vertikale Zeit des Stücks“ zu begeben.

Man kann eine direkte Linie zwischen diesem alternativen Modus des Musikhörens und zahlreichen Praktiken von Meditation und Achtsamkeit ziehen, die der Konzentration auf die Gegenwart eine ähnlich große Bedeutung einräumen. Lou Drago, Host von Transience, sieht die Meditation als eine Methode, das Denken zu vermeiden um eine Zeit lang die Last des Selbst-Bewusstseins und anderer Ängste zu verringern. Im Rahmen des Workshops denkt Drago über verschiedene Arten von Musik nach, die die Erfahrung vertikaler Zeit verstärken können. Zweimal pro Woche wird das Programm mit einer einstündigen Hör-Session beginnen. Die Besucher*innen werden eingeladen, mit der Musik zu interagieren und zu versuchen, eine Aufhebung der Zeit zu erleben. Die Grundannahme ist, dass die beiden Faktoren Meditation und vertikales Zuhören ineinander greifen. Die Erfahrung der vertikalen Zeit kann eine meditative Wirkung haben, allerdings muss man im Grunde bereits meditieren – also von bewussten Gedanken befreit sein –, um die Zeit vertikal erfahren zu können.

Text Lou Drago

Die Teilnahme im Rahmen von „State oft he Arts“ ist kostenlos (mit Ausstellungsticket).

Spontane Teilnahme ist möglich und erwünscht.
(Begrenzte Platzkapazitäten, Zutritt jeweils nach Verfügbarkeit.)

 

Alt Text
zum gesamten Programm

Kontakt
Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der
Bundesrepublik Deutschland GmbH
Museumsmeile Bonn
Helmut-Kohl-Allee 4

T +49 228 9171–200
F +49 228 234154
info@bundeskunsthalle.de

Öffnungszeiten
Montag
Dienstag und Mittwoch
Donnerstag bis Sonntag
und an Feiertagen*

*auch an Montagen

 

geschlossen
10 bis 21 Uhr
10 bis 19 Uhr

˄ scroll ˅