STATE OF THE ARTS
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++

Gisèle Gonon

Work With Us, 2018
»Mixed media«, Audio loop 04:45 min
Courtesy the artist

Website

*1981 in Saint-Étienne, France
lives in Berlin

 

Gisèle Gonon, Work with us, 2018, Photo by © Sebastian Eggler

Gisèle Gonon, Work with us, 2018, Photo by © Sebastian Eggler

Gisèle Gonon works in diverse media, often combining sculpture, drawings, video and sound. She is especially interested in the forms, colours, functions and social context from which a medium emerges. She links her research with collecting the materials that she works with: objects, tools and acts become altered and alienated from their original function. Gonon’s multimedia installation Work With Us calls into question the substance and methods of the modern world of work, exposing the advertising language that companies utilise to recruit their staff.

Job adverts filled with loud promises of creative freedom, personal development and fulfilment can be found everywhere on the labour market as companies seek to capture the interest of potential candidates. Such adverts are especially common in the world of start-ups: “Think big and act fast”, “A positive environment” and “Go for it and own it” are phrases from the audio loop in Gisèle Gonon’s work. Overwhelmed by recruitment adverts that promise heaven and earth, we experience the labour market as a complex system of incentives, promises and requirements that extend far beyond the professional sphere, encroaching on our personal lives.

Gisèle Gonon, Work with us, 2018, Photo by © Sebastian Eggler

The artist thereby casts a critical eye over the capitalist belief system and sheds light on its influence on the world of work.

*Luc Boltanski/Ève Chiapello, Le nouvel esprit du capitalisme, Paris 1999; English title: The New Spirit of Capitalism, London, 2005. The authors see their book as a critique of ideology. It examines how the ideological justification for capitalism has changed over time.

The artist thereby casts a critical eye over the capitalist belief system and sheds light on its influence on the world of work. “The new spirit of capitalism” * is also reflected in start-up culture. It seems as if it is no longer enough today to merely work for a company. Instead, employees must internalise its corporate values and identify with them completely. Work experience and professionalism are disregarded. Gonon’s goal is to disrupt and interrupt mechanical processes and to stage a kind of sabotage. All of this is linked to a strong political undertone, yet still always full of humour and subtlety. Her distorted representation of the “coffee fountain” is an especially striking example of how she achieves this. Here the artist refers to the noria effect, which describes a method for calculating the difference in wage costs between new, younger employees (with lower salaries) and their older counterparts (with higher salaries).

Miriam Barhoum

Born in France, the Artists has studied at the School of Art and Design in Saint- Étienne, she lives and works in Berlin and is the Co-Founder of the Collective CCPC (Collisions, Cataclysmes et Permis de Construire).


˄ scroll ˅

STATE OF THE ARTS
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++
Work With Us
Gisèle Gonon
+++

Gisèle Gonon

Work With Us, 2018
»Mixed media«,  Audio loop 04:45 min
Courtesy die Künstlerin

Website

*1981 in Saint-Étienne, Frankreich
lebt in Berlin

Gisèle Gonon, Work with us, 2018, Foto von © Sebastian Eggler

Gisèle Gonon arbeitet intermedial und kombiniert Skulptur, Zeichnung, Video und Sound. Gonon interessiert sich insbesondere für die durch Analogien, Formen, Farben, die Funktion und den sozialen Kontext, dem ein Medium entstammt. Ihre Recherche verbindet sie mit dem Sammeln von Materialien, die sie künstlerisch bearbeitet: Objekte, Werkzeuge oder Handlungen werden verändert und somit ihrer ursprünglichen Funktion entfremdet.
Die Multimedia-Installation Work With Us stellt Themen und Methoden der modernen Arbeitswelt in Frage und entlarvt dabei vor allem die Werbesprache, die die Unternehmen zur Personalbeschaffung einsetzen. Job-Angebote die lautstark kreative Freiheit, persönliche Entwicklung und Erfüllung versprechen, sind auf dem Arbeitsmarkt allgegenwärtig, um das Interesse potenzieller Bewerber*innen zu erregen, und vor allem in der Welt der Startups weitverbreitet: „Think big and Act fast“, „A positive environment“, „Go for it and own it“, sind Sätze aus dem Audio loop, die man in Gisèle Gonons Arbeit hört. Überschüttet von Angeboten, die das Blaue vom Himmel versprechen, erleben wir den Arbeitsmarkt als komplexes System aus Anreizen, Versprechen und Anforderungen, die weit über das Berufliche hinaus in das private Leben eingreifen.

Gisèle Gonon, Work with us, 2018, Foto von © Sebastian Eggler

Die Künstlerin wirft auf diese Weise einen kritischen Blick auf kapitalistische Glaubenssysteme und beleuchtet deren Einfluss auf die Arbeitswelt.


* Luc Boltanski/Ève Chiapello, Le nouvel esprit du capitalisme, Paris 1999, dt. Der neue Geist des Kapitalismus, Konstanz 2003. Ihr Buch verstehen die Verfasser als Ideologiekritik. Sie untersuchen darin die sich mit der Zeit vollziehenden Veränderungen bei der ideologischen Rechtfertigung des Kapitalismus.

Die Künstlerin wirft auf diese Weise einen kritischen Blick auf kapitalistische Glaubenssysteme und beleuchtet deren Einfluss auf die Arbeitswelt. „Der neue Geist des Kapitalismus“ * findet sich auch in der Startup-Kultur wieder. Es scheint, als wäre es heutzutage nicht mehr ausreichend, nur für ein Unternehmen zu arbeiten. Vielmehr muss man die Werte des Arbeitgebers internalisieren und sich vollkommen mit ihnen identifizieren. Berufserfahrung und Professionalität werden dabei außer Acht gelassen. Ihr Ziel ist es mechanische Abläufe zu stören und zu unterbrechen – eine Art Sabotage zu inszenieren –, und all das in Verbindung mit einem starken politischen Unterton, jedoch immer humorvoll und feinsinnig zugleich. Dies gelingt ihr insbesondere durch die zugespitzte Darstellung des „Kaffee-Brunnens“, mit dem die Künstlerin auf den sogenannten Noria-Effekt verweist. Dieser Begriff beschreibt die Methode, mit der die Lohnkosten-Differenz zwischen neuen, jüngeren Mitarbeiter*innen (geringeres Gehalt) und älteren (höheres Gehalt) berechnet werden kann.

Miriam Barhoum

Die in Frankreich geborene Künstlerin hat ihre Ausbildung an der School of Art and Design in Saint- Étienne vollzogen, sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und ist Mitbegründern des Kollektivs CCPC (Collisions, Cataclysmes et Permis de Construire).


˄ scroll ˅