STATE OF THE ARTS
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++

Simon Fujiwara

Empathy I, 2018
5D-Simulator-Installation with sound,
video, motion, water, and wind, 3:49 Min.
Courtesy the artist and Esther Schipper Gallery, Berlin

Instagram

*1982 in Harrow, United Kingdom
lives in Berlin and London

 

Photo by: © Andrea Rossetti

Photo by: © Andrea Rossetti

Photo by: © Andrea Rossetti

Photo by: © Andrea Rossetti

Simon Fujiwara explores the dominant images and narratives of our time in a process he calls ‘hyper engagement’ with the capitalist-entertainment worlds that shape how we communicate and consume. He is especially interested in the stories and strategies that individuals and societies use to define themselves and form their identities in a time where the internet manipulates and constructs our sense of reality. Crossing the boundaries of different media, Fujiwara works with video and installations, performance art, sculpture, painting and a wide range of technical media. 

At the centre of Empathy I is a 5D cinema inspired by theme park rides. Here the artist replaces the computer-generated fantasy worlds with real-life YouTube footage of personal, emotional and intense physical experiences shot by anonymous users. The experience of viewing the lives of others on screen is transformed into a powerful physical experience through the use of robotic moving seats synchronised to the movements of the camera. The intensity and speed of the images together with the physicality of the work overrides the brain’s ability to process meaning in the moment, offering instead heightened but simulated feelings of arousal, calm, fear and pleasure. Simon Fujiwara reflects here on the accelerated dynamic of our visual consumption – the sacrifices and gains we make as we increasingly experience life through a lens. 

Photo by: © Andrea Rossetti

There is no narrative or dramatic arc leading to an emotional climax

Our world today is extensively digitalised. We communicate via various digital media, stream films, read e-books, play online games or find out about the latest news by reading online newspapers and following social media. Technological progress has created a multitude of new possibilities that are triggering lasting changes in the way that we live together as a society. Our media culture has changed much more fundamentally than is evident from the shift from scheduled television to consumption on demand, or from the printed book to the e-reader. This far-reaching transformation has now been a subject of debate in contemporary media criticism for some time. The characteristics of these changes go beyond the increased speed of communication and information, and the difficulty of distinguishing between journalism, the manipulation of opinion, and advertising. The traditional sender-receiver model is also shifting. With the old mass media (such as newspapers and television), a sender directed its message at a large number of receivers. The growth of social media, however, is transforming this relationship, turning everyone into a potential sender.

Observations like these were the starting point for Empathy I. The accelerated dynamic of our visual consumption is resulting in a bitter battle for our attention. But the constantly growing volumes of available content and images are also resulting in a qualitative change. The most emotive image is the one that stays in our minds, whether it is bizarre, tragic, funny or exciting. It is not just our attention as receivers that follows this principle. Our pretensions to success as senders – which is measured in likes, shares, retweets and comments – are also guided by it. The digital and analogue worlds interact in this context through experiences and situations from our own real lives that are documented and staged via media. Validation is the objective of the digital response that we hope to achieve. This validation contributes significantly to how we form our personal identities. At the same time, demand is growing for intense digital visual experiences to consume, ones that promise diversion and stimulation. The self behaves like a product and a consumer in equal measure. In this way, it is able to satisfy its craving for validation as well as its curiosity and desire to watch.

Photo by: © Andrea Rossetti

However, intense, short-lived experiences leave an emptiness behind them. There is no narrative or dramatic arc leading to an emotional peak; instead, aborted climaxes follow non-stop one after another. Digital technology’s limited capacity to be a satisfying replacement for physical analogue experience and one’s own emotional sensations becomes the central theme in Empathy I. In this context, Simon Fujiwara asks how important physical experience is. Can physical experience be simulated? Do our bodies and minds actually operate in such a way that real emotions can be produced artificially? Or will there always be a crucial difference between what we physically and mentally experience and what is conveyed via media, no matter how far technology advances?

Photo by: © Andrea Rossetti

Simon Fujiwara reflects these developments by making us observers of, and participants in, different situations in a carefully planned dramatic composition. We enter a waiting area, just like the ones that we encounter in everyday life. We draw a number. There are places to sit and a water dispenser, and free Wi-Fi is available. Several editions of Fifty Shades of Grey lie on the table. In each copy, a bookmark marks the place where the two protagonists in the story freely enter into a sadomasochistic relationship and sign a contract governing it. The work points to the fact that, day in, day out, we consciously surrender ourselves to the internet and in particular to social media. It is also a comment on the contradictions in our society: its liberal and democratic values are at odds with what is idealised and eroticised in the novel, which was much criticised as misogynistic and pro-capitalist. Against this backdrop, the novel’s enormous success has been a source of preoccupation for Simon Fujiwara. During his research, he found out that so many copies of the novel had been given to the charity Oxfam that it begged people to stop donating it. The donated copies were impossible to sell, but they could not be recycled either because the glue in the binding turned out to be toxic. Thousands of books were left suspended in a kind of limbo, without any possible way in which they could be used. The artist decided to buy all of Oxfam’s stock and use it for his work in order to create a framework for reflection on this chain of paradoxes.

Johanna Adam

Simon Fujiwara grew up in Japan, Spain and the UK. He studied architecture at the University of Cambridge and fine arts at the Städelschule in Frankfurt. The artist’s work is represented in numerous international collections, such as the Museum of Modern Art and the Guggenheim Museum in New York and the Tate in London. He was the recipient of the 2010 Baloise Prize at Art Basel and the 2010 Frieze Cartier Award and a nominee of the prestigious Preis der Nationalgalerie in 2019.


˄ scroll ˅

STATE OF THE ARTS
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++
Empathy I
Simon Fujiwara
+++

Simon Fujiwara

Empathy I, 2018
5D-Simulator-Installation (mit Ton, Video,
Bewegung, Wasser und Wind, 3:49 Min.
Courtesy der Künstler und Esther Schipper Gallery, Berlin

Instagram

*1982 in Harrow, Großbritannien
lebt in Berlin and London

Foto von: © Andrea Rossetti

Foto von: © Andrea Rossetti

Foto von: © Andrea Rossetti

Foto von: © Andrea Rossetti

Simon Fujiwara setzt sich mit den Bildern und Narrativen unserer Zeit auseinander. Das Phänomen, das er als ‘Hyper-Engagement’ beschreibt, basiert auf der Beobachtung kapitalisierter Unterhaltungswelten, die unser Konsum- und Kommunikationsverhalten prägen. Der Künstler ist an den Strategien interessiert, mittels derer sich Individuen innerhalb der Gesellschaft definieren und profilieren – in einer Zeit, in der das Internet einen maßgeblichen Teil unserer Lebensrealität bestimmt. Die Grenzen der einzelnen Medien überschreitend, arbeitet Fujiwara mit Video und Installation, Performance, Skulptur, Malerei und verschiedensten technischen Medien.

Im Zentrum der Arbeit Empathy I steht ein von Freizeitparks inspiriertes 5-D-Kino. Statt einer fiktionalen Reise durch Fantasiewelten präsentiert der Künstler jedoch gefundene Youtube-Videos, die extrem emotionale oder intensive körperliche Erfahrungen zeigen. Diese Videos anonymer Nutzer, die in massenhafter Zahl im Internet zu finden sind, zeigen private, teils intime Momente. Durch deren Umsetzung in einen Simulator, dessen bewegliche Sitze der Kamerabewegung folgen, steigert Simon Fujiwara die Beobachtung zu einer körperlichen Erfahrung. Die Intensität und Geschwindigkeit der Bilder und die zusätzliche physische Komponente überfordern uns insofern als unser Gehirn eine längere Zeitspanne benötigt, um die Bedeutung einer momentanen Situation zu erfassen und einzuordnen. Ausgelöst wird stattdessen eine Aneinanderreihung übersteigerter, aber simulierter Emotionen wie Erregung, Angst oder Freude. Simon Fujiwara reflektiert hier die beschleunigte Dynamik unseres Konsums von Bildern – was opfern und was wir gewinnen wir durch ein Leben, das zusehends durch eine Kameralinse transzendiert wird?

Foto von: © Andrea Rossetti

There is no narrative or dramatic arc leading to an emotional climax

Unsere Welt ist heute weitgehend digitalisiert. Wir kommunizieren über verschiedene digitale Medien, schauen Filme per Streaming, lesen E-Books, spielen Online-Games oder informieren uns in der digitalen Presse und sozialen Medien über die neusten Meldungen. Der technische Fortschritt hat eine Vielzahl neuer Möglichkeiten geschaffen, die das gesellschaftliche Miteinander nachhaltig verändern. Dass sich unsere Medienkultur viel tiefgreifender gewandelt hat, als es sich in einem Wechsel vom Programmfernsehen zum Konsum „on demand“ oder vom gedruckten Buch zum E-Reader zeigt, ist längst Thema der jüngsten Medienkritik. Zu den Kennzeichen dieser Veränderungen gehört nicht nur die erhöhte Geschwindigkeit von Kommunikation und Information oder die Schwierigkeit zwischen Journalismus, Meinungsmache und Werbung zu unterscheiden, sondern auch die Verschiebung des klassischen Sender-Empfänger-Modells. Während sich in den alten Massenmedien (etwa Zeitungen und Fernsehen) ein Sender an eine Vielzahl von Empfängern richtete, verändert sich diese Beziehung durch die sozialen Medien dahingehend, dass jeder zum potenziellen Sender wird.

Beobachtungen wie diese waren Ausgangspunkt für die Arbeit Empathy I. Die beschleunigte Dynamik des Konsums von Bildern sorgt für einen erbitterten Kampf um unsere Aufmerksamkeit. Die sich ständig steigernde Menge der verfügbaren Inhalte und Bilder führt aber auch zu einer qualitativen Veränderung. Das emotionalste Bild bleibt in Erinnerung, sei es bizarr, tragisch, komisch oder aufregend. Diesem Prinzip folgt nicht nur unsere Aufmerksamkeit als Empfänger, sondern auch unser Anspruch an den eigenen Erfolg als Sender, der sich in Likes, Shares, Re-Tweets oder Kommentaren misst. Das Wechselspiel, das sich digitale und analoge Welt in diesem Zusammenhang liefern, besteht aus Erfahrungen und Situationen des eigenen realen Lebens, die medial dokumentiert und inszeniert werden. Die erhoffte digitale Resonanz zielt auf eine Bestätigung ab, die einen nicht unerheblichen Teil zur individuellen Identitätsbildung beiträgt. Gleichzeitig wächst das Verlangen nach dem Konsum immer intensiverer digitaler Bilderfahrungen, die Zerstreuung und Stimulation versprechen. Das Ich geriert sich als Produkt und Konsument gleichermaßen und kann somit sein Geltungsbedürfnis ebenso stillen wie seine Neugier und die Lust am Zuschauen. 

Foto von: © Andrea Rossetti

Das kurzweilige und intensive Erleben hinterlässt jedoch eine Leere. Keine Erzählung und keine Spannungskurve führen hier zu einem emotionalen Höhepunkt, stattdessen folgt pausenlos eine abgebrochene Klimax auf die nächste. Die begrenzte Fähigkeit der digitalen Technologie, zum befriedigenden Ersatz analoger körperlicher Erfahrung und eigenem emotionalem Empfinden zu werden, wird in Empathy Izum zentralen Thema. Simon Fujiwara stellt in diesem Zusammenhang die Frage nach dem Stellenwert der körperlichen Erfahrung. Ist es möglich, auch das physische Erleben zu simulieren? Funktionieren unser Körper und Geist tatsächlich so, dass sich echte Emotionen künstlich hervorrufen lassen? Oder wird zwischen physischem und psychischem Erleben im Gegensatz zum medial vermittelten immer eine entscheidende Differenz bleiben, unabhängig vom Fortschritt der Technologie?

Foto von: © Andrea Rossetti

Simon Fujiwara reflektiert diese Entwicklungen, indem er uns in einer fein abgestimmten Dramaturgie zu Beobachtern und Teilnehmern verschiedener Situationen macht. Wir begeben uns in einen Wartebereich, wie wir ihn aus dem Alltag kennen: Man zieht eine Nummer, es stehen Sitzmöglichkeiten und ein Wasserspender bereit, freies WLAN wird angeboten, und in der Ablage des Tisches befinden sich mehrere Ausgaben des Romans Fifty Shades of Grey. Die Bücher sind jeweils dort mit einem Lesezeichen markiert, wo sich die beiden Protagonisten der Geschichte freiwillig auf eine sado-masochistische Beziehung einlassen und dies vertraglich festhalten. Fujiwara verweist einerseits darauf, dass wir uns tagtäglich bewusst dem Internet und insbesondere den sozialen Medien ausliefern. Zum anderen unterstreicht er die Widersprüchlichkeit einer Gesellschaft, deren liberale und demokratische Werte konträr zu dem stehen, was der als misogyn und prokapitalistisch kritisierte Roman idealisiert und erotisiert. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat Simon Fujiwara der enorme Erfolg des Romans beschäftigt. Während seiner Recherchen erfuhr er, dass die Wohltätigkeitsorganisation Oxfam so viele Exemplare des Romans als Spenden erhielt, dass sie in einem Aufruf darum bat, von weiteren Schenkungen abzusehen. Diese ließen sich weder verkaufen noch recyceln, da sich der Leim im Einband als giftig erwies. Tausende von Büchern verharrten so in einer Art Schwebezustand ohne Verwendungsmöglichkeit. Der Künstler beschloss, Oxfam den gesamten Vorrat abzukaufen und für seine Arbeit zu verwenden, um für diese Kette von Paradoxien einen Reflexionsrahmen zu schaffen.

Johanna Adam

Simon Fujiwara ist in Japan, Spanien und in Cornwall, Großbritannien aufgewachsen. Architektur an der Universität Cambridge und Kunst an der Städelschule in Frankfurt. Arbeiten des Künstlers befinden sich unter anderem in so renommierten Sammlungen wie dem Museum of Modern Art und dem Guggenheim Museum in New York sowie in der Tate in London. 2010 gewann er sowohl den Baloise Prize der Art Basel und den 2010 Frieze Cartier Award. 2019 gehörte er zu den Nominierten des Preis der Nationalgalerie in Berlin.


˄ scroll ˅