STATE OF THE ARTS
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++

Nora Turato

Thanks, I hate it!, 2020
Video

He’s not horny, He’s just very ambitious/
I considered asking the flight attendant whether she would
mind if I jumped out of the emergency door, 2020
Wall painting

Courtesy the artist,
Galerie Gregor Staiger
and LambdaLambaLambda

Instagram

*1991 in Zagreb, Croatia
lives in Amsterdam

 

 

Nora Turato, Exhibition View, Thanks, I Hate It!, 2020 / He’s Not Horny, He’s Just Very Ambitious, 2020 Courtesy die Künstlerin und Galerie Gregor Staiger und LambdaLambaLambda, Photo: Zöhre Kurc, 2020 © Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland GmbH

Language is the central theme of Nora Turato’s performances, videos and wall works. She writes and performs spoken-word poems, interweaving text fragments from advertising slogans and everyday communication, and reflecting the language and textual culture of the present day. How is language used today, and which signals do sound and speech communicate? What effect does the aesthetic of visually perceived texts have? Language is constantly changing. It expresses the social spirit of our times in an audible and visible form. Nora Turato’s artistic inventions focus on how language can be used to detect cultural development.

In the early20th-century avant-garde, texts and text fragments frequently appear in images and collages. Dada and surrealism saw themselves as both visual art and literary movements. A number of their protagonists worked with painting, collages, sculpture and poetry simultaneously. Design and typography became an important theme. Kurt Schwitters, one of the most important Dada artists, stated, “Typography can be art in some circumstances.” The element of visual design in poetry began to become significant around 1930 with the emergence of concrete poetry. Here language itself becomes the theme. Its phonetic and visual aspects are the central focus, while the content recedes into the background. In the 1960s, pop art and conceptual art linked language or writing with visual art. This takes many different forms: texts can be the sole design motif; they can make clear statements or solely serve the imagination.

Today the fields in which language and visual art meet have multiplied immensely. They have expanded so much that it is often scarcely possible to clearly categorise a work as belonging to a particular genre. In music and literature, spoken-word performances emerged as an important form thanks to movements such as the Beat Generation in the 1960s. In the visual arts, the Fluxus movement played an important role in bringing spoken-word performances to the fore in this field. The fusion of the arts can be experienced directly in Nora Turato’s works: her practice encompasses spoken-word performances, video and audio works, large-scale murals and graphic works as well as artist’s books. The scripts on which her works are based reflect on media as well as on the design of the form and the content of the language with which we are confronted every day. She condenses text fragments from advertising and social media, everyday platitudes, film and literature into rhythmic speech acts and visually striking images. Her interest lies in the effect that language has in a particular context, the political appropriation of words, and the interpretation of language and how it is determined by the environment.

Johanna Adam

Nora Turato studied at the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten
and the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam
as well as the Werkplaats Typografie in Arnhem.

Her practice encompasses spoken-word performances, video and audio works, large-scale murals and graphic works as well as artist’s books.

 when did your mind begin to turn on itself?
2020
vitreous enamel on steel, four elements
192.5 x 242 cm
Courtesy of the artist; LambdaLambdaLambda,
Pristina & Galerie Gregor Staiger, Zurich
Photo: Paul Schöpfer

˄ scroll ˅

STATE OF THE ARTS
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++
THANKS, I HATE IT!
Nora Turato
+++

Nora Turato

Thanks, I hate it!, 2020
Video

He’s not horny, He’s just very ambitious/
I considered asking the flight attendant whether she would
mind if I jumped out of the emergency door, 2020
Wandmalerei

Courtesy die Künstlerin,
Galerie Gregor Staiger und
LambdaLambaLambda

Instagram

*1991 in Zagreb, Croatia
lives in Amsterdam

 

Nora Turato, Ausstellungsansicht, Thanks, I Hate It!, 2020 / He’s Not Horny, He’s Just Very Ambitious, 2020 Courtesy die Künstlerin und Galerie Gregor Staiger und LambdaLambaLambda, Foto: Zöhre Kurc, 2020 © Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland GmbH

In den Performances, Videos und Wandarbeiten von Nora Turato ist die Sprache das zentrale Thema. Sie schreibt und performt Spoken-Word-Gedichte, verwebt Textfragmente aus Werbeslogans und Alltagssprache und reflektiert auf diese Weise die Sprach- und Textkultur der Gegenwart. Wie wird Sprache heute verwendet, und welche Signale übermitteln Klang und Sprechweise? Welche Wirkung hat die Ästhetik visuell wahrgenommener Texte? Sprache befindet sich in einem steten Wandel, in ihr kommt der gesellschaftliche Zeitgeist hör- und sichtbar zum Ausdruck. Was sich an ihr in Bezug auf eine kulturelle Entwicklung ablesen lässt, steht im Zentrum der künstlerischen Inventionen von Nora Turato.

Schon bei der Avantgarde des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts tauchen Texte und Textfragmente häufig in Bildern und Collagen auf. Dada und Surrealismus verstanden sich sowohl als bildkünstlerische wie literarische Bewegungen. Nicht wenige ihrer Protagonist*innen arbeiteten zugleich mit Malerei, Collagen, Skulptur und auch Dichtung. Gestaltung und Typografie wurden zu einem wichtigen Thema. Kurt Schwitters, einer der bedeutendsten Dada-Künstler, konstatierte: „Typographie kann unter Umständen Kunst sein.“ In der Dichtung wiederum begann etwa um 1930 mit der Konkreten Poesie das visuell-gestalterische Moment an Bedeutung zu gewinnen. Die Sprache selbst wird hier zum Thema, ihre phonetischen und visuellen Aspekte stehen im Mittelpunkt, der Inhalt tritt in den Hintergrund. In den 1960er-Jahren sind es insbesondere die Pop-Art und die Konzeptkunst, die Sprache bzw. Schrift und bildende Kunst miteinander verbinden. Die Erscheinungsformen sind vielfältig, Texte können zum alleinigen Gestaltungsmotiv werden, klare Aussagen treffen oder ausschließlich der Imagination dienen.

Heute haben sich die Bereiche, in denen Sprache und bildende Kunst einander begegnen, so immens vervielfacht, dass häufig kaum noch eine eindeutige Zuweisung an ein bestimmtes Genre möglich ist. Auch in Musik und Literatur, etwa durch die Beat-Bewegung der 1960er-Jahre, haben Spoken Word Performances an Bedeutung gewonnen und sind nicht zuletzt über die Fluxus-Bewegung wiederum ins Blickfeld der bildenden Kunst gerückt. In den Arbeiten von Nora Turato wird die Verschmelzung der Künste direkt erfahrbar: Ihre Praxis umfasst sowohl Spoken Word Performances, Video- und Audio-Arbeiten, großformatige Wandbilder, Grafiken als auch Künstlerbücher. Die Skripte, auf denen ihre Arbeiten basieren, reflektieren sowohl die Medien als auch die gestalterische Form und die Inhalte jener Sprache, mit der wir tagtäglich konfrontiert werden. Textfragmente aus Werbung und Social Media, Alltagsfloskeln, Film und Literatur verdichtet sie zu rhythmischen Sprechakten und visuell eindringlichen Bildern. Im Mittelpunkt ihres Interesses stehen dabei die Wirkung von Sprache im jeweiligen Kontext, die politische Vereinnahmung von Begriffen und die milieuabhängige Interpretation von Sprache.

Johanna Adam

Nora Turato hat an der Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten
und an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam
sowie am Werkplaats Typografie in Arnheim studiert.

Ihre Praxis umfasst sowohl Spoken Word Performances, Video- und Audio-Arbeiten, großformatige Wandbilder, Grafiken als auch Künstlerbücher.

when did your mind begin to turn on itself?
2020
vitreous enamel on steel, four elements
192.5 x 242 cm
Courtesy of the artist; LambdaLambdaLambda,
Pristina & Galerie Gregor Staiger, Zurich
Photo: Paul Schöpfer

˄ scroll ˅