STATE OF THE ARTS
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++

Simnikiwe Buhlungu

Rolling-A-Joint:
Revisiting Spike Lee, 2015
Courtesy the artist

Instagram

*1995 in Johannesburg, South Africa
lives in Johannesburg and Amsterdam

Rolling-A-Joint: Revisiting Spike Lee, 2015 © Simnikiwe Buhlungu

Ya-Dig
Sho-Nuff
Be Any Means Necessary

In her video work Rolling-A-Joint: Revisiting Spike Lee, Simnikiwe Buhlungu playfully creates audiovisual montages by combining spoken and written words with sound. She does not primarily see herself as a performance artist, but here she can be seen setting to work on extracts from scripts by Spike Lee (*1957 Atlanta, Georgia) and “deconstructing” them in an inquisitorial manner. She dissects, reworks and acts out the text. The acclaimed author, actor and director can without exaggeration be considered as a style-maker for an entire generation of Afro-American pop and film culture. His works are also referred to as “Spike Lee Joints” and directly compared to a perfectly rolled joint. Buhlungu takes inspiration from this, incorporating it into her video as a homage to the artist and a metaphorical act.

Her video works resemble investigations that fundamentally question the emergence and spread of knowledge. She often works with text-based media, video and installation art, always drawing on the theory that art forms such as film and sonic engagements, as a way to create a sense of belonging and solidarity between narratives within and beyond the African continent and its many placements within a global context.

Her interest lies in telling personal, transgenerational and socio-historical stories and weaving them into a web. These narratives raise issues that preoccupy her and pose questions that she wrestles with at times. The use of sound and oral narratives, publications ‒ and their dissemination ‒ form a large part of her artistic practice.

Miriam Barhoum

Simnikiwe Buhlungu currently lives in Amsterdam, where she has started her two
year residency at the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten.

Rolling-A-Joint: Revisiting Spike Lee, 2015 © Simnikiwe Buhlungu

˄ scroll ˅

STATE OF THE ARTS
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++
Rolling-A-Joint
Simnikiwe Buhlungu
+++

Simnikiwe Buhlungu

Rolling-A-Joint:
Revisiting Spike Lee, 2015
Courtesy die Künstlerin

Instagram

*1995 in Johannesburg, Südafrika
lebt in Johannesburg und Amsterdam

 

Rolling-A-Joint: Revisiting Spike Lee, 2015 © Simnikiwe Buhlungu

Ya-Dig
Sho-Nuff
Be Any Means Necessary

Simnikiwe Buhlungu kreiert in ihrer Video-Arbeit Rolling-A-Joint: Revisiting Spike Lee spielerisch audiovisuelle Montagen, indem sie gesprochene und geschriebene Wörter mit Sound kombiniert. Sie versteht sich zwar nicht als Performerin, tritt aber in dieser Videoarbeit als Protagonistin auf, indem sie sich Drehbücher von Spike Lee (*1957 Atlanta, Georgia) vornimmt und diese präzise beleuchtet. Sie inszeniert hier den Versuch einer individuellen künstlerischen Kritik an Spike Lees Werk, indem sie den Text seziert, verändert und nachspielt. Der gefeierte Autor, Schauspieler und Regisseur kann ohne Übertreibung als stilbildend für eine ganze Generation der afro-amerikanischen Pop- und Filmkultur gelten. Seine Arbeiten werden auch als „Spike Lee Joints“ bezeichnet und mit einem perfekt gerollten Joint verglichen. Hiervon inspiriert, und als Hommage an den Künstler nahm Buhlungu sein Werk und diese Bezeichnung als Methapher in ihr Video mit auf.

Simnikiwe Buhlungus Video-Arbeiten gleichen Untersuchungen, die die Entstehung und Verbreitung von Wissen grundsätzlich in Frage stellen. Sie arbeitet mit Text-basierten Medien, Video und Installation. Die Künstlerin geht stets von der Theorie aus, dass z.B. Kino und Musik, vor allem aus der afro-amerikanischen Kultur, ein Gefühl von Zugehörigkeit und Solidarität zwischen Afrika und seiner Diaspora erzeugen.

Ihr Interesse liegt insbesondere darin, persönliche, generationsübergreifende und sozio-historische Geschichten zu erzählen und zu einem Netz zu verknüpfen, die Themen aufwerfen, mit denen sie sich beschäftigt und zuweilen auch hadert. Der Einsatz von Sound und gesprochenen Erzählungen sowie die Publikation und Verbreitung von Texten machen einen Großteil ihrer künstlerischen Praxis aus.

Miriam Barhoum

Simnikiwe Buhlungu lebt derzeit in Amsterdam,
wo sie ein zweijähiges Residenzprogramm an der
Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten absolviert.

Rolling-A-Joint: Revisiting Spike Lee, 2015 © Simnikiwe Buhlungu


˄ scroll ˅